Files in Your
When you initially log into the root
of your account, depending upon the method in which you choose to
log in, you will see various hidden files and directories, among
them, the two that hold the most importance are the public_html
and public_ftp directories.
Do not delete or rename any of these directories or any hidden files
that you may find. These directories are automatically setup by the
system and required in order for your hosting account to function
properly. Deleting or renaming any of them will cause fatal errors
that can only be repaired by deleting and resetting your account.
Deleting and resetting your account will inadvertently cause you to
experience DNS problems, these problems are not something that can
be manually fixed, as they can only work themselves out in an
unpredictable amount of time.
Of these directories, the most important to you is the public_html
directory. This is the directory where you will upload your web
pages and create other sub-directories that will pertain to your
website and be viewable from your web browser.
Your site will not be viewable on a web
browser unless the files are uploaded to the public_html directory.
Upon entering your public_html directory, you will see only one
directory, which is your cgi-bin. This is the directory where you
will upload your cgi scripts.
Do not delete of rename your cgi-bin
As you add features from your Control Panel, the system will
automatically create other directories within this area. Any and all
sub-directories and/or files created by the system are required by
the system and should not be deleted or altered in any way. The
index.html page is the default entry page for your account and this
file should be replaced by one of your own design.